About Us » Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocese of Washington

Archbishop Carroll High School is owned and operated by the Catholic Archdiocese of Washington. As the only archdiocesan high school in the District of Columbia, Carroll is an important education ministry of the local Catholic Church.

The school is a separately incorporated entity of the Archdiocese of Washington. Oversight of the school is provided by a Board of Directors, which has limited powers of jurisdiction. Board members are approved by the Archbishop of Washington, Cardinal Wilton Gregory. 

The Board of Directors provides oversight for the school’s operations, including its budget and strategic planning. 

The Cardinal appoints the president of Archbishop Carroll upon the recommendation of the school’s board. All other administrators, teachers and staff of the school are appointed by the school’s resident.

The Archdiocese of Washington…

* owns Archbishop Carroll’s land and building;

* directly oversees its Catholic identity;

* directly governs any borrowing of money or substantial changes to the school’s physical plant;

* and reserves a few other powers. 


Archdiocesan officials are ex-officio members of Archbishop Carroll’s Board of Directors:

* The Secretary for Catholic Schools and Superintendent of Schools, Kelly Branaman, who is the Cardinal’s advisor on all educational issues.

One indication of the special relationship between the Archdiocese and Carroll is the tuition benefit: All employees of the Archdiocese of Washington, its affiliated corporations, parishes, and schools qualify for a 50% tuition rate at Archbishop Carroll.

Representing over 600,000 Catholics in D.C. and six counties in Maryland— Montgomery, Prince George’s, Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s—the Archdiocese operates 64 parish or consortium schools and two high schools—Archbishop Carroll and Don Bosco Christo Rey. An additional twelve elementary schools and eighteen high schools are independently run; the Archdiocese oversees the Catholic identity of those institutions. 

The Washington Catholic Athletic Conference (WCAC) is a league that includes twelve schools from two different dioceses—Washington and Arlington, VA. It is not organizationally affiliated with either diocese. 

For more information on the Archdiocese of Washington www.adw.org.